History & Exhibits
The lobby balcony (mezzanine) features a pictorial time line of the Lodge. From its humble beginnings back in 1932 through the high points (restaurant opening, refits) and the low (the two fires) to the present day. The balcony offers the best view of the true beauty of the lobby, and the wonderful examples of some of the recycled materials that were given a new lease of life in the new lodge.
The large display board outside the Big Bear Conference room features many of the recycled materials used in the reconstruction. The display shows samples of the materials, and details their original use along with where they can be found in the current building. Even the culprit of the 2008 fire, a propane gas pipe has been salvaged and now forms the railings on the lobby balcony. You will soon realize that the new lodge really isn’t so new after all!
This reddish sandstone like rock is abundant in this area. It was used to build numerous buildings in the town and was used in Three Bear Lodge’s original building in 1932.
This white rock was formed by geyser activity and was harvested just North of Yellowstone near Gardiner, Montana. It was used for a more modern and striking look and was put over the original Rhyolite during the remodel in 1973.
From an ancient Yellowstone Caldera flow. In 1935, our unique Basalt Lava Rock was blasted to make an irrigation canal that ran through the Seely farm near St Anthony, Idaho (74 miles South). Originally it was just gray rock but over the years has grown colorful likens, and now forms a unique feature of our imposing new Lobby and front façade.